

Effingham County Board 101 N. 4th Street, Suite 301, Effingham, IL 217.342.4990

EFFINGHAM COUNTY RE-ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING

December 2, 2024 – 4:00 p.m.

MINUTES

1. ROLL CALL, PLEDGE, PRAYER

The County Board of Effingham County, Illinois met pursuant to a re-organizational meeting held on Monday, December 2, 2024 at 4:00 p.m. in the County Board Room, County Building, City of Effingham, and State of Illinois.

Meeting was called to order by Chairman Josh Douthit. Roll call was taken with the following **Board Members present:** Joshua Douthit, David Campbell, Norbert Soltwedel, Tim Ellis, Christopher Keller, Mike Buzzard, Doug McCain, Sandra Rich, Jeremy Deters.

2. SWEARING OF COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

• Chairman Josh Douthit turned the meeting over to Michelle Kollmann, County Clerk. The official Oath of Office was given to the 5 newly elected board members by County Clerk Michelle Kollmann. Also, the Certificate of Election was presented to the board members.

3. ELECTIONS – CHAIRMAN & VICE-CHAIRMAN

- Nominations were opened for Chairman. Member D. McCain made a motion to nominate Joshua Douthit as County Board Chairman. Member T. Ellis seconded. *Motion Carried.* Joshua Douthit was named Effingham County Board Chairman.
- Nominations were opened for Vice-Chairman. Member J. Deters made a motion to nominate David Campbell as County Board Vice-Chairman. Member C. Keller seconded.
 Motion Carried. David Campbell was named Effingham County Board Vice-Chairman.

The meeting was turned over to the newly elected Chairman Joshua Douthit.

4. COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

The committee assignments are as follows: Effingham County Board Committees Legislative Committee of the Whole

D. Campbell Chr. J. Deters V. Chr.

Tax & Finance Committee of the Whole N. Soltwedel Chr. S. Rich V. Chr. Road & Bridge Committee D. McCain Chr. N. Soltwedel V. Chr. Health and Insurance Committee T. Ellis Chr. N. Soltwedel V. Chr. **Reports Committee** J. Deters Chr. S Rich V. Chr. Public Safety Committee D. Campbell Chr. S. Rich V. Chr. **Building and Grounds Committee** N. Soltwedel Chr. D. McCain V. Chr. Ambulance Oversight S. Rich Chr. J. Deters V. Chr. **Economic Development** D. Campbell, Chr. C. Keller, V. Chr. Transportation J. Deters, Chr. M. Buzzard, V. Chr. Child care Research N. Soltwedel M. Buzzard Airport T. Ellis J. Douthit

Member C. Keller made a motion to name the following board members to the above committee assignments and appointments. Member D. McCain seconded. Unanimous. *Motion Carried.*

5. FY25 COUNTY BOARD MEETING SCHEDULE

• Member D. Campbell made a motion to approve the FY25 County Board meeting schedule. Member C. Keller seconded. Unanimous. *Motion Carried.*

6. GENERAL INFORMATION AND PUBLIC COMMENT

• None

7. CLOSED SESSION

• None

8. ADJOURN

• Member C. Keller made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Member N. Soltwedel seconded. Unanimous. *Motion Carried.*