

Legislative/Personnel Committee

of the Whole of the Effingham County Board 3rd Floor Board Room, Effingham County Building Monday, August 12, 2024 at 2:00 p.m.

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE: David Campbell; Chairman, Jeremy Deters; Vice Chair, Josh Douthit, Tim Ellis, Chris Keller, Sandi Rich, Norbert Soltwedel, Doug McCain, Mike Buzzard

Committee Members Present: D. Campbell, J. Deters, J. Douthit, T. Ellis, C. Keller, N. Soltwedel, D. McCain, M. Buzzard

This meeting was called to order by Chair David Campbell.

1. Approve Minutes

Member J. Deters made a motion to approve the minutes. Member M. Buzzard seconded.
 Unanimous. *Motion carried*.

2. Unfinished Business

None

3. New Business

Board Member Committee Assignment Update
 It was noted the board member committee assignment update reflects the appointment of the
 new board member Mike Buzzard. Member M. Buzzard will take over the appointments that
 were held by former board member Elizabeth Huston. Member J. Douthit made a motion to
 recommend to the full board to approve the appointment of Mike Buzzard to the committee
 assignments held by Elizabeth Huston. Member D. McCain seconded. Unanimous. Motion
 carried.

County Holidays for 2025

The 2025 County Holiday schedule will reflect the same as the prior year. Member J. Douthit made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the 2025 County Holiday schedule. Member C. Keller seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried.*

Decennial Reports

Teutopolis Fire Protection District

Member J. Deters made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the Teutopolis Fire Protection District Decennial report. Member C. Keller seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried.*

Shumway Fire Protection District Member N. Soltwedel questioned the amount of \$151,873.00 listed for the district's equalized assessed value. He noted the amount seemed low. Chairman D. Campbell requested the Shumway Fire Protection District be contacted to verify the amount listed. Member J. Deters made a motion to table the Shumway Fire Protection District Decennial report for revision. Member T. Ellis seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried*.

4. Appointments

- Island Grove Drainage District Joe Niemerg (09/03/2024-09/07/2027)
 Member T. Ellis made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the appointment of Joe Niemerg to the Island Grove Drainage District. Member C. Keller seconded. Unanimous.
 Motion carried.
- Lucas Township Drainage District Curtis Stortzum (09/03/2024-09/07/2027)
 Member D. McCain made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the appointment of Curtis Stortzum to the Lucas Township Drainage District. Member J. Deters seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried*.
- South Island Drainage District Dennis Niemerg (09/03/2024 09/07/2027)
 Member M. Buzzard made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the appointment of Dennis Niemerg to the South Island Drainage District. Member T. Ellis seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried*.
- St. Francis Drainage District Steve Borries (09/03/2024 09/07/2027)
 Member J. Deters made a motion to recommend to the full board to approve the appointment of Steve Borries to the St. Francis Drainage District. Member C. Keller seconded.
 Unanimous. *Motion carried*.

5. General Information/Public Comments

• Member N. Soltwedel wanted some clarification on the development of the Opioid Advisory Committee. He questioned if the appointment should come from the Legislative committee or if it is an advisory committee under Health and Insurance committee. There was discussion on the purpose or intent of the Opioid Advisory Committee. It was stated the Opioid Advisory Committee would assist with the process to request funds and give ideas or feedback on how to spend the funds. Member J. Douthit noted any request for the Opioid Settlement funds would be made to the Tax and Finance committee and the Effingham County Board would give final approval to allocate the funds with the advice from the States Attorney. There was some discussion on the formation of the Opioid Advisory committee members.

6. Closed Session

7. Adjourn

• Member C. Keller made a motion to adjourn this meeting. Member J. Douthit seconded. Unanimous. *Motion carried.*

Respectfully submitted,

Michelle M. Kollmann Effingham County Clerk